Events I’m going to: BizWeek’s European Leadership Forum

I’m part of a team working on Business Week’s European Leadership Forum; because is have a strong interest in how an increased desire for openness within business from companies’ stakeholders is bringing about a sense of ‘Corporate  Consciousness’; I’ll be especially looking forward to the debate on how corporate responsibility is changing the face of business (see this agenda). As you’ll have doubtless noticed there are a number of people from Burson Marsteller (the company that I work for) speaking as well. I hope that counts as my disclaimer!

I’ve been thinking for a while about whether to write something more in-depth about corporate consciousness, as I am still convinced it will soon become the juncture at which business evolution and corporate responsbility meet. I’d personally go so far as to say that we will likely see a future where the term ‘CSR’ becomes outmoded and CSR-like initiatives become a normal part of how the company operates, in some cases it may be out of necessity (such as stakeholder pressure to impact positively on climate change issues) rather than choice.

As for the #ELF09 I’ll be liveblogging and tweeting all the latest goings on tomorrow. The action starts at 7:45am. Sign up for the webcast if you can’t get there yourself.

Leave a Reply

